Wooden Drink Cooler

Happy Spring  and March Madness! {If you’re into that – my team is already out so boo hoo!}

I hope that spring is starting to bloom in your neck of the woods.  This project is a perfect welcome to warmer weather and enjoying the outdoors.

Free plans made available by Shanty 2 chic  I’m not going to list my specific measurements because there were cut according to the size of my cooler.

Cooler – Check, Supplies – Check, Free plans – Check…time to start building!
image

If you have a different size cooler than in the plans, measure to get your dimensions then start making your cuts.  You will have a lot of like boards, so I suggest marking your lengths on the ends.

image

First, make the surround.  I’m checking my measurements and so far so good!
image

Here is the surround.

image

Everything is attached using my Kreg Jig K4 pocket hole maker.  I love this tool!
image

and time for another measurement check!  CHECK!

image

Now for the legs.  I did not attach them together with pocket hole screws as in the free plans.  They are screwed directly into the cooler.
image

One screw into the top of the surround, one in the bottom of the surround and one more towards the base of the legs.  Repeat on second leg board.  This method still felt solid.  {Oh Yeah….I stained it too!}
image

I trimmed out the top of the cooler with 1 x 2’s – making the edges flush and attaching with nails.
image

The trim is attached and I’ve made the frame for top/lid.
image

Measure so that the inside edges of the lid are flush to the inside edges of the surround.   Attach the frame together with pocket hole screws.  Here’s a closer view…notice there is an overhang between the lid and the frame.

image

Measure and cut your slats to complete the lid.  The slats are are attached to the lid frame using pocket hole screws.

image

Hang in there…almost done!  You will need a bottom brace to support your cooler.  Drop your cooler inside and set the top flush to the surround.  Mark where your braces need to be placed, then attach them to the surround using pocket holes and screws.

image

Attach the lid with a set of 2 1/2″ Zinc narrow hinges
image

Add a handle for easy lifting
image

Ta-Da!
image
Once we purchase a bottom opener and ice scoop, those will get added to the front legs.

image

Here is another pic of the cooler unstained.
cooler

Let the party begin!!

Talk of the Town
Lovely Little Link Party
Celebrate Your Story
You’re Gonna Love it
Make It Pretty Monday
DIY Like A Boss
Whimsy Wednesday

16 thoughts on “Wooden Drink Cooler

  1. so smart. I need to make one of these for my patio! Thank you for linking up to Celebrate Your Story! Link Party -Jenny @ Paintyourselfasmile

    Like

    • Thank you Danielle! I like being able to give the ordinary new life. My husband and I have down-sized these plans and made a tailgate size. It’s more portable and perfect for football season or if you don’t have the room for the larger size. Thank for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a comment