Homemade Ravioli w/ Tomato Cream Sauce

Hello folks!  Southern Sawdust here.  I enjoy spending time outdoors and in my garage working on my wood projects, but I love my kitchen even more!  And I spent a lot of time there this weekend!  For starters,  I got a head start on my contribution to our pot luck Easter Sunday meal at my sisters.

pot·luck
ˌpätˈlək/

noun
a meal or party to which each of the guests contributes a dish.

“a potluck supper”

I made a 7 layer salad, a classic green bean casserole, Conestoga yeast rolls and Dirt cake. YUM!  It was great creating some of the traditional springtime foods but my culinary highlight of the weekend was THIS…Homemade Ravioli! IMG_0902

I am 1/4 Italian (paternal grandmother) and true to my roots, I LOVE Italian food.  One of my brothers and I have a tradition of making pasta from scratch every so often.  He lives closer now (YAY!) so hopefully this tradition will become more frequent.  Next time, my plan is to visit my Nonna and cook with the master.

It takes very few ingredients to make pasta…flour, (Semolina or All-Purpose) egg (slightly beaten), salt and water/olive oil.  A pasta machine is not necessary but helpful.

IMG_0871
Mix the flour and salt then make a well in the middle.  Add the beaten egg then incorporate the flour a little at a time until a stiff dough forms.
IMG_0873
On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough for several minutes.
IMG_0876

Hand roll or use a pasta machine for desired thickness. YES…we are messy cooks!

IMG_0890

We made a meat filling using lots of garlic, pepperoni, ground beef and sausage, crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, Romano cheese and Italian seasonings.

IMG_0897

Lay one pasta sheet flat and lightly brush water over the dough.  Spoon mounds of the filling, about 2 teaspoons each, onto the damp half of the dough.

IMG_0901

Leave about 1/2 inch between the mounds. IMG_0902

Lay the dry half over the sheet lengthwise to cover the filling. Press the sheets together and use fork tines to seal the edges.  Use a knife or pastry cutter to cut individual ravioli. Cook, uncovered, into salted, gently boiling water until the pasta is al dente, firm to the bite, 2 – 3 minutes.  IMG_0899

Serve with your favorite sauce.  I used a tweaked version of this Tomato Cream Sauce. Ahh mazing!

IMG_0903

We shared our labor of love with family, friends, great wine!  Just like Nonna would do. (My Nonna lives less than 2 hours from me so I’ll be seeing you soon!  Ciao Bella)

Here is a picture of her birthplace, Trieste, Italy….wow, that was a trip of a lifetime!

5476645760_0e3f20ee78_m

Have you ever made pasta from scratch?

Have you ever visited Italy?  If so, what region?

Ps….Don’t forget to visit my cousins new blog Delight & Flourish

Linked to:

Celebrate Your Story 

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Ravioli w/ Tomato Cream Sauce

  1. Okay, I am officially hungry for these right now! I have never tried to make my own pasta, but I might have to take on this recipe! This sounds incredibly delicious! Thank you so very much for sharing at Celebrate Your Story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

