DIY Farmhouse headboard with built in lights

Hello there!

I give full credit on this build to my husband!

A quick backstory first….

I caught the building bug less than two years ago and as per the norm, my husband was fully supportive of my “newest” craft…aka big ole mess!  He was willing to share the knowledge he had, gave me full use of his tools and dreamed right along with me.

He’s not one to sit on the sidelines so from day one, he’s been willing to help me create and clean up!  {Ladies, he LOVES a tidy environment and I’m known to create a disaster so yeah, he’s a keeper!}  Over time, he’s gone from being my helper to diving headfirst into his own projects.   I like diversity and he can make the same item one time or 20 {and each one is better than the last}. I need rules a plan and pictures – lots of pictures!  He starts building and figures it out as he goes…which leads us to today’s post.

He’s had the idea of making a headboard on the brain for some time now.  Our daughter will be moving out soon and is in desperate need of
a} A bed that’s not falling apart
b} One that’s more mature and that she can cherish for years to come.
So, off to the drawing board he went.  {He actually started with a plan!  I must be rubbing off on him!}

Here’s the process the best I can explain…he had no interest in “blogging” for me but he did take pictures! haha!

This is the mock up he drew to determine size and plank arrangement for a queen size bed.
IMG_0675

He cut 1×4 boards then labeled them with the measurements so he could place them in the correct order.

image

He made a basic frame – measurements: 63″ wide x 60″ tall.  One board across the top was attached to two outside supports / legs. The legs can be attached to a bed frame or propped between the wall and bed for stability.
Note: Queen mattress width is 60″  – Standard headboard width is 0-3″ wider than the bed frame. Click over to Remodelaholic for an awesome guide.

image

He used two vertical boards in the middle to attach the horizontal face or planks to the front of the headboard.

image

The corners were angled for the trim.

image

The stain our daughter chose was Minwax Weathered Oak. It has a lovely driftwood look about it.

image

My husband wanted to kick it up a notch so he decided to add built in lights.  He found these outdoor lights.  Because they are meant for outdoor, they come with wires only.  He was able to add a cord that you can easily plug into your outlet.  The bulbs are a vintage look Edison bulb in a smoke color.  They give off a very soft and peaceful glow.

image

Isn’t it lovely?!  I’m so proud of him for this beautiful work of art!  Our daughter absolutely LOVES it!  He even inscribed the back with a sweet message to her.  What a special gift from a special man!

image

Linked: Simple Life of a Fire Wife – Inspire Me Monday

Linked: The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday

Linked: Savvy Southern Style – Wow Us Wednesday

Linked: Rustic & Refined – Table It Link Party

Linked: Designer Trapped – DIY Like a Boss

 

8 thoughts on “DIY Farmhouse headboard with built in lights

  1. That is absolutely beautiful, I love the added lights. Your daughter is a very lucky girl, it sounds like she has two wonderful, loving parents. The inscription is so sweet too. Kelly.

    Like

    • How sweet Kelly! Thank you! We think we’re pretty awesome! ha! I like the inscription as well. He’s encouraged me to sign and date everything I build. It will be nice memory for myself or someone that may receive something I make in the years to come. Thank you for taking the time to comment! I hope you will visit again! Malissa

      Like

  2. simple and classic and timeless – he did a fabulous job and I’m sure your daughter is rapt! thanks for sharing on our #OTM link up ~ Leanne 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment