Sawdust stories

Today I’m back to share some of my past projects.  I do not have pictures of the work in progress but I hope you enjoy the final result nonetheless.  I will have some detailed builds up soon so keep checking back!

I love this storage caddy with handle! It has so many uses! I’ve used it as an adorable centerpiece, summer picnic basket – it could hold napkin/utensils..endless ideas! I will be making another one to give as a welcome gift for our new neighbors. I plan to overflow it with mason jars filled with herbs and flowers from our backyard and a few baked goods!.

I love this storage caddy with handles! It has so many uses! I've used it as an adorable centerpiece, summer picnic basket - it could hold napkin/utensils..endless ideas! I will be making another one to give as a welcome gift to our new neighbors. I plan to overflow it with mason jars filled with herbs and flowers from our backyard and a few baked goods!.

Decorative caddy with handle

Wood Tray – Plans from my favorite girls

This adorable tray is lightweight, inexpensive and a perfect choice for your first build. Give it a try to make it yours by adding different handles, paint or stain. You can dress it up or leave it Au Naturale like mine. I can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

This adorable tray is lightweight, inexpensive and a perfect choice for a first build. Give it a try!

Serving tray

You probably have the supplies lying around your house to make this next build.  Grab a 2×4 (1×4 or even 1×6 to keep it light…I used what I had on hand) decorative knobs, twine and screw eye hooks.

This was such an easy and quick build and quite lovely I might add. I’m surprised how such a simple piece can add interest and beauty to a blank wall. The small knobs are great for drying fresh herbs or hanging pictures. What other ways can you picture using this in your home?

This was such an easy and quick build and quite lovely I might add. I'm surprised how such a simple piece can add interest and beauty to a blank wall. The small knobs are great for drying fresh herbs or hanging pictures. What other ways can you picture using this in your home?

Wall plaque

Wood plague

My husband and I had fun building this awesome wood ice chest with FREE plans from Shanty 2 Chic!  It’s rugged and includes a cute ice scoop with holder, bottle opener and side hooks.  Lift the hinged lid and you’ll find a 45 QT. styrofoam ice chest and a drain with rubber stopper for easy emptying.  We plan to stain it then rough it up with sand paper.  Just in time for summer, then football season, then holiday parties….This baby will be enjoyed all year-long!

Check out this nice looking container to keep your favorite beverages cold!

Check out this nice looking container to keep your favorite beverages cold!

I accepted a more difficult challenge when my sister-in-law asked me to help with her first build.  She chose this beautiful scroll leg table from Her Tool Belt.  The detail on the legs was tricky because the best tool for the job was a jigsaw.  As you can see, we made it work, but it took a lot of muscle and sanding.  We started with this…..

Table leg

Check out those legs!

And ended with THIS!

Scroll leg table

AHH MAZING!! We were giddy piecing this beauty together!

Well folks, that’s all for now.  I’ll be back with more sawdust stories.

Link: Karen’s Up On The Hill – STTA

Leave a Reply

