From Grilling to Drilling

SO I did it! It happened! Wait what? I finally built something. Ok ok with the help of the hand dandy Southern Sawdust behind the scenes here. Let me explain…

My grandmother just recently did some remodeling and she gave me her old farmhouse table and chairs. Well, the seats of the chairs are the kind that look like sack string were sewn in the bottoms. They are finally falling apart. I’m 27 years old and they are finally throwing in the towel. (I know she had them long before me)

I was talking with Mrs Sawdust and told her I needed something to put there so my children were not sitting on the floor eating dinner. Now, I already have one white bench on one side of the table so I was thinking why not make a simple bench to go on the other? HA! Simple?? What was I thinking? This was one of the hardest things I had ever done. I panicked a few times, drilled my hand, dropped the screws… need I go on? So without further adieu, i’m pleased to introduce to you the new addition to my kitchen. The kid was already there but isn’t he just the cutest??image

So here we go, first her hubby had the boards cut to the correct length for me. Thank you Mr Sawdust!! Now they made me do all the cutting with the jigsaw. It was not all that bad once I got used to it. Which was the last part of the last leg 🙂 Just kidding, no really. imageimageimage

Next we had to assemble the bench, this is where my little helper came in to play. imageimageimageimage

Next thing I knew, my bench was COMPLETE! image

All joking aside, it was the most rewarding feeling. I was so proud of myself. I didn’t realize how hard that was and what detail goes into DIY. Mrs Sawdust BRAVO!!

So I now have another project going on for a Window Pane Chalkboard. Thank you Lauren over at Bless’er House for the idea.

Have a great day!

Mrs Alabama Spice

Funky Polkadot Giraffe

Sugar Bee Crafts

Leave a Reply

