I {dis}like big mirrors and I cannot lie….

You know those BIG, square, heavy bathroom mirrors?  Well, we have one but its not in the bathroom anymore.  {Hip Hip Hooray!]  We downsized and that left us with two choices…hang it downstairs to use in a weight room, exercise kind of space {not MY idea, for the record} 🙂 or find a way to re-purpose.  Hmmm, since I can always find an excuse not to workout I chose the DIY route!
Guess who my build plans came from…yep, once again the sisters over at Shanty 2 Chic made my day!

Since I dislike big mirrors {Is the real version of the song stuck in your head yet?! Yes, you’re welcome for that!} I purchased this handy glass cutter from our local Lowe’s to cut it down to a more manageable size.

Queue picture of dirty mirror, taken outside at night with the overhead light reflecting!  NAILED IT!!
IMG_3055

Here’s ya even more awesomeness…..add puppy walking over previous mentioned dirty mirror, etc. Measure & cut the mirror to your preferred size.  This step made me a little nervous but ended up being rather simple and quick.  #faceyourfears

IMG_3056

These plans require you to cut 45 degree angles!!! YAY!!  So fun & super easy – just set your dial…

IMG_3048

and let the machine do the rest!

IMG_3049

All cuts are made.  Now its time to assemble.

IMG_3051

I glued the sides together

IMG_3052

then stapled to make more secure.  I was on a roll and wouldn’t you know it…there was only ONE STAPLE in the gun!!  ARGHHHH – thankfully I had more on hand so I quickly re-loaded and was back to work in no time!

IMG_3054

After the glue was dry, I stained it with Rust-oleum wood stain in Dark Walnut.  This color is gorgeous!!  I let the stain sit for a few minutes then wiped off the excess with an old cloth.

IMG_3057

I used Liquid Nails to attach the mirror to the frame and let it dry overnight.

IMG_3058

And here she is!!

IMG_3064

She’s sitting pretty on my Ana White console table!

IMG_3087

Now I LOVE big mirrors and I cannot lie!!

Linking up to:

Something To Talk About
Mad Skills Party
Think and Make Thursday

Leave a Reply

