Ice cream, peaches and basil…OH MY!

Alabama Spice and I love food and often share recipes.  Even though she features the foodie things on this blog, when I’m not measuring and cutting in the workshop, I love to dice and chop in the kitchen.

Today I’m sharing one of my favorite summer treats with you.  The recipe is from my culinary hero The Pioneer Woman. BTW, have you seen her PW collection?!  I.want.it.all!  and with the prices soo reasonable that just might happen.  Her collection can be found at your local Wal-mart or online.

On with the recipe

With only 4 ingredients, this recipe is super easy but the flavor is out of this world!

Start by making a simple syrup by combing equal parts water and sugar.  Bring to a boil and cook just until it thickens {several minutes} but does not change color.  Remove from heat & set aside to cool.

While your syrup is on the stove, peel and cut some peaches.  I had some yummy fresh ones on hand so I used those….you can use canned as well.
peaches

In a blender, toss in a good bunch of basil…my FAVORITE herb! and this is picked fresh from our backyard.
peaches1

Then slowly pour in the cooled syrup.
basil

IMG_2788

Blend into a beautiful, delicious, aromatic, green, yummy goodness!

IMG_2789

It may look gross but believe me, you will want to drink this!

IMG_2791

Serve over vanilla ice cream

peachbasil

then go back for round 2…

icecream

If you’ve never made this….do it NOW!  With cooler temps on the way, this will be a perfect memory of summer.

Leave a Reply

