DIY Father’s Day frame

Hello again!

Alabama Spice asked if I could help finish off a Father’s Day gift for her Mister.  So, today I’m sharing how I made a rustic picture frame out of scrap wood.

Gather your pictures and scrap wood

Gather your pictures and scrap wood – look at (ALL) of those cuties! 🙂

Grab a few supplies

Grab a few supplies..pencil, measuring tape, wood glue, drill, screws, Kreg Jig (YAY!), straight edge and desired finish.

Lay your pictures down on the wood to decide the size (HxWxL) and look you want.

Lay-out your design

Lay-out your design

Ask for help if needed!

My little helper

My little helper

Once you find a board arrangement that you are happy with, number each board..1,2,3, etc. & mark the top & bottom edges of your pictures with a light pencil mark.  (I also mark the front (F) and/or backs (B) of my boards.)  Why does all of this matter, you ask?

Quick story, Sally the cat came along and tried to use the wood as a hi-dive!  The planks crashed to the ground, Sally thought she had lost one of her nine lives, and that left me piecing the puzzle back together, so to speak.

Alabama Spice requested a staggered edge frame instead of straight cut boards so I had to re-position the spacing above & below the pictures after Sally’s circus act.  Also, not every board look the same.  The grain and knots and imperfections make each piece of wood unique.  I take all these small details into consideration throughout my projects. If I made the necessary marks in the beginning, well, you get it, I hope.  I could have quickly moved on to the fun stuff….POWER TOOLS!

Ahhhh the smell of sawdust!

Ahhhh the fresh smell of sawdust!

Once you have lined up the blade to your marked cut line, secure your wood with the twist lock.

cut

Nice, clean cut line

Start the blade before it touches the wood.  Make a solid cut all the way through the wood and then back out where you began the cut.  Do not lift the blade up once you reach the top of your cut line.  From the beginning, keep the blade running and push it all the was through the wood then pull back out of the same cut.  This should give you a clean, complete cut.

Ready to assemble

Ready to assemble

Line up your cuts (see, so easy since you numbered and marked them, right?!) and get ready to assemble.

Pocket hole markings

Pocket hole markings

Decide the best placement for your pocket holes. Mark the location AND direction on your wood.

Drilled pocket holes

Drilled pocket holes

I didn’t capture a picture of the pocket holes being made (that’s worth its own post) but here you see them drilled.  Pocket-screw or Pocket-hole joinery is a way of connecting joints or basically joining two pieces into one.  With the help of a Kreg Jig kit (LOVE THEM! – go ahead and spend a little extra cash for a good one…I don’t have this one yet but its on my list!) you drill a hole at an angle into one piece and it joins together with the second piece with a screw.  It makes your finished piece look nice because all of the holes will be hidden.  Fill in the holes with some wood filler, sand when dry then complete your work of art with your desired finish, stain, paint, etc.

Pocket hole screws attached

Pocket hole screws attached

I had another little helper!  My Granddaughter is building us a house!!

I had another little helper! My Granddaughter is “building us a house”!!

Add your favorite stain, paint or clear coat it to show off its natural beauty.

Add your favorite stain, paint or clear coat it to show off its natural beauty.

All done!

All done!

Once it’s dry, attach mounting hardware and apply a clear coat (I used Mod Podge) to adhere and seal the pictures to the wood.

Happy Father’s Day to all the Dad’s out there!

I hope you enjoy your gift Mr. Alabama Spice!

Leave a Reply

